fbpx

What Our Valued Clients Have Said

I just had to share our amazing experience with H1C, the construction company that made our Hawaiian dream home a reality. Luke, Xi, and Jo, you're not just professionals; you're now our friends for life. Our custom home is a true masterpiece, and it's all thanks to the incredible team at H1C. What impressed us the most was how they tackled unexpected issues that popped up during the project. They didn't stress us out; instead, they presented solutions and made it all seem easy. The weekly updates they provided, whether it was a video or an on-site visit, kept us in the loop and gave us peace of mind. H1C's personal touch and open communication really set them apart. Luke, Xi, and Jo treated us like family, not just clients. Their attention to detail and craftsmanship are unmatched. They've not only built us a house; they've created a loving home where we'll cherish memories forever. If you're in search of a construction company that's professional, caring, and truly dedicated, we wholeheartedly recommend H1C. They've gone above and beyond to make our dream come true, and we couldn't be happier. Thanks a million, H1C, for everything.
Megan Stahl Avatar
Megan Stahl
9/30/2023
We are grateful to have had Luke Stensland and the team at H-1 Construction for our renovation. If integrity, communication, and quality work are important to you, you will love working with H-1. We met Luke in 2010 when we replaced windows on the 1963 built Kane'ohe home we had just purchased. The window vendor recommended Luke when the person we had hired to install the new windows dropped out suddenly. What a blessing to have the H-1 team step in and get the job done efficiently and beautifully. Fast forward to 2020 … we are planning a big renovation ... adding over 600sf under the roof plus a 500sf workshop / carport to our posts and piers home. The area to be renovated is under our existing dwelling and needed a lot of dirt removed before construction could begin. My husband ambitiously thought he and some subcontractors could tackle this project. Because of this we talked to about a half dozen contractors and subcontractors. I quickly saw how unrealistic it would be to piece this project together and I contacted Luke who had been my first thought when we decided to do the renovation. Whew … I was relieved and elated that he was willing to take the job. I appreciated the clarity of his bid after having received bids from others by text or emails that lacked details. Even though it was not the lowest bid, H-1 Construction was worth every penny given the quality of work and the quality of the people on the H-1 team—office team as well as construction crew and subcontractors were all great. Several trades were involved, mason, plumbers, and electricians. We were kept informed and H-1 coordinated the work to keep the job flowing. This was especially appreciated because the project was 8 months long. Yes, challenges happened yet Luke looked for and provided solutions that were fair and a win for all. We are loving our renovation. The project ended over 2 years ago, yet Luke stuck by us while we dealt with circumstances beyond anyone’s control to get the building permit closed. This finally happened last month (June 2023). Luke’s support helped us get through the final steps with the building inspector. We absolutely recommend Luke Stensland and H1-Construction whole-heartedly and without reservation. Mahalo nui loa! Marci and Tim
M L Avatar
M L
7/28/2023
We are grateful to have had Luke Stensland and the team at H-1 Construction for our renovation. If integrity, communication, and quality work are important to you, you will love working with H-1. We met Luke in 2010 when we replaced windows on the 1963 built Kane'ohe home we had just purchased. The window vendor recommended Luke when the person we had hired to install the new windows dropped out suddenly. What a blessing to have the H-1 team step in and get the job done efficiently and beautifully. Fast forward to 2020 … we are planning a big renovation ... adding over 600sf under the roof plus a 500sf workshop / carport to our posts and piers home. The area to be renovated is under our existing dwelling and needed a lot of dirt removed before construction could begin. My husband ambitiously thought he and some subcontractors could tackle this project. Because of this we talked to about a half dozen contractors and subcontractors. I quickly saw how unrealistic it would be to piece this project together and I contacted Luke who had been my first thought when we decided to do the renovation. Whew … I was relieved and elated that he was willing to take the job. I appreciated the clarity of his bid after having received bids from others by text or emails that lacked details. Even though it was not the lowest bid, H-1 Construction was worth every penny given the quality of work and the quality of the people on the H-1 team—office team as well as construction crew and subcontractors were all great. Several trades were involved, mason, plumbers, and electricians. We were kept informed and H-1 coordinated the work to keep the job flowing. This was especially appreciated because the project was 8 months long. Yes, challenges happened yet Luke looked for and provided solutions that were fair and a win for all. We are loving our renovation. The project ended over 2 years ago, yet Luke stuck by us while we dealt with circumstances beyond anyone’s control to get the building permit closed. This finally happened last month (June 2023). Luke’s support helped us get through the final steps with the building inspector. We absolutely recommend Luke Stensland and H1-Construction whole-heartedly and without reservation. Mahalo nui loa!
Tim and Marci
7/10/2023
We absolutely love being in our new home! Luke and the H1 team did a fabulous job of turning our vision for our 1970's family home into reality. Luke was initially involved in the design process and was key in helping us identify ways to achieve our goals and stay within budget. During the 11-month construction, Luke, the project manager and foreman kept us informed on the progress, consulted us on issues and items they knew were important to us and were responsive to our questions, concerns and needs. And while there were a few bumps along the way, we were confident it would be resolved to our satisfaction. Bottom line, H1 Construction cared (and continues to care) about delivering a quality product and ensuring we were happy with the work done. What more could we ask for in a Contractor!!
Fresh by Sonia Freitas Avatar
Fresh by Sonia Freitas
7/30/2019
We hired H-1 construction to remodel our master bath. It was a small job for them, but we never felt like we were less than a priority. Luke is a terrific contractor - knowledgeable, helpful, and an all around great guy. Jonah and Uakea were friendly, professional and did absolute quality work. They also cleaned up every day, leaving our home cleaner than when they got there. We would hire H-Construction again in a heartbeat!
David Ellis
4/30/2019
H-1 construction remodeled the lower half of my house into a spectacular work studio, office and living space. In addition to being professional and good at problem solving, Luke listened to my thoughts and wishes to transform them into an ideal living space. The work crew was always friendly, polite and helpful, resulting in a positive experience. They kept the property impeccably clean. Workmanship was top notch. H-1 has earned my praise. They are highly recommended.
Hale Aniani Avatar
Hale Aniani
4/07/2018
Luke and his team were very helpful and transparent during our project. It was very stressful for me because our project went over budget in some areas due to unforeseen circumstances, but Luke was flexible and worked with my husband on creative ways to push the project forward. I appreciated that he provided weekly check-ins that included videos and a list of items that they had worked on and completed over the past week. Luke also responded very quickly to our inquiries and consultative calls. I would recommend this company if you are looking for a high quality output.
Rae Kim
3/17/2018
Luke Stensland is trustworthy, which is the most important quality for a good relationship with a general contractor. Building a home is very stressful, and can be overwhelming. Luke took the time to explain things, and was very patient and responsive to help me achieve what I wanted within my budget. The H-1 staff is also very professional and helpful. I love my new house, and I highly recommend!
ainahaina
10/30/2017
Luke and his crew are simply awesome. They care about their work and doing things right, in the right way. They hold themselves to the highest level of craftsmanship, and more importantly the highest level of integrity. During any construction job there will be challenges that arise, and our project was no different. Every single time, no matter how big or small, Luke was a professional in the way that he handled the situation. The way the crew approached their work was as if they was building their own house. The attention to detail and the desire to make the house the home of our dreams was truly remarkable. Although the entire H-1 team was incredible, I especially want to thank Luke, Jovan, and Mana. They put their personal touch on our house and were always willing to listen to us as homeowners, and deliver a high quality product. I highly recommend them to anyone renovating or building a new home. They have built four homes for my friends, and are currently building one for another close friend of mine. These string of referrals and the fact that we trust Luke as a community of friends speaks volumes for not only the final product, but the process and how they treat the families they serve. My family will always be grateful to Luke and H-1 Construction for their work on our home.
Chase Mitsuda
7/29/2017
Awesome quality work! Very easy to work with, and helped us achieve the vision we had in our whole house remodel and addition. We wanted to expand and update the foot print of our 1960's home without completely loosing its original charm. The H-1 crew accomplished our goals executing the truly custom plans that the architects at Fujita and Netski created. The end product was our forever home with the perfect transition of modern and 1960's charm! Awesome job guys!
Albert Teruya
7/20/2017
H-1 Construction was amazing! Luke and his team delivered the best contracting experience possible. They are everything that we could have hoped for when starting to build our dream house. We wouldn't change anything about our experience with them! Absolute perfection! We had such a great time working with them, that we recommended them to all of our family and friends. Four of our best friends have since worked with H-1 Construction and all four have had similar experiences. Small jobs or big jobs, it doesn't matter. Their attention to detail, focus on what the client wants, and overall caring attitude are unparalleled. They are a no-brainer choice for any construction need. They have my highest recommendation!!!!
Marcus Kaya
7/18/2017
Luke and everyone at H1 were absolutely top-notch. They were honest and trustworthy, and paid proper attention to "the little things." They took great pride in their workmanship and didn't cut corners. Our project involved many challenges, some foreseen and some unforeseeable, and the H1 crew handled everything in stride. We liked that they were diligent about cleaning after themselves at the end of workdays. They are a tight, professional operation. We are extremely happy with the outcome of our project. We would not hesitate to work with Luke and H1 again in the future, and would enthusiastically recommend H1 for any construction need.
orenb28
7/17/2017
I contacted H-1 Construction for a partial home remodel and I was very impressed with the professionalism and quality of work. During the process a flaw was discovered with the original home build and Luke at H-1 corrected the problem, no hesitation and no outrageous price increase, he just handled it. If you want a quality job done right then H-1 is the way to go.
User
7/13/2017
A quality home builder
Jory Mooney Avatar
Jory Mooney
3/21/2017
I contacted H-1 Construction for a partial home remodel and I was very impressed with the professionalism and quality of work. During the process a flaw was discovered with the original home build and Luke at H-1 corrected the problem, no hesitation and no outrageous price increase, he just handled it. If you want a quality job done right then H-1 is the way to go.
Brian Carr Avatar
Brian Carr
3/21/2017
Highly recommend Luke and Ryan as a design build team. We are so happy with our beautiful house remodel and the process was much less painful than anticipated. We stayed on schedule and there was almost always someone working on our house (even weekends and major holidays!). The communication between Luke and Ryan to turn the design into reality worked wonderfully. Even during times that we thought we had found an problem that couldn't be resolved, Luke and his team were able to find a good solution. This is high quality work and it shows.
Erika
5/14/2016
Luke Stensland took all the fear and trepidation out of our home teardown and new construction, from beginning to end, and continuing beyond. He provided practical advice during the planning stages with his design/build architect partners, Ryan Fujita and Chris Netski. He provided a crew with skilled craftsmanship and the ability to not only be flexible to changes, but to add problem solving and aesthetic details that were not even in the plans. During construction, they took care to protect the neighbors from excessive noise and dust as much as possible. When unexpected questions and issues arose, Luke took great care to have them resolved to our satisfaction, and within our budget. For the past two years in our new home, Luke has continued to be very responsive to help us resolve any of the typical new house issues that always turn up, and at no cost to us when possible. Despite his busy schedule, he treats us like he's our personal handyman.
stannicken
3/14/2016
Luke and his colleagues did a fantastic job renovating our townhouse. We had the kitchen remodeled, put new fixtures in the bathrooms, had tile floors installed throughout, and the whole apartment repainted. There were problems with the existing construction--including a practically-unusable pantry and very uneven concrete flooring--that Luke's crew was able to solve at reasonable cost. Luke's crew chief on our job, Jozeph, was top-notch: great communication, highly responsive, and good at problem-solving. We lived in the apartment during the renovation, which added complexity that Jozeph and his crew were very professional in dealing with. Where we needed to reduce costs to keep the project within our budget, Luke's people were able to suggest alternatives which we have been very happy with. Almost four years later, we are still getting compliments from guests about the look-and-feel of our renovations. We hired H-1 to do roofing and siding repairs on a house after this project, and were very pleased with the result of that work as well.
btandns
3/06/2016
We actually didn't end up doing a project together, because our remodel wasn't exaactly Luke's cup of tea, but Luke was very professional and helpful throughout discussions and ended up giving me a cost estimate (with a quick turnaround) to use in negotiation with the seller of my property. Kudos for good customer service!
duke_hartman
2/16/2016
Luke and H-1 Construction were prompt and worked diligently on our extension from start to completion. They were easy to work with and were able to accommodate changes we requested along the way. Communication was excellent. His workers were neat, took pride in their work and did a professional job. They did not rush or cut corners. The construction site was kept neat. We would highly recommend them. We love our extension and it turned out exactly as we had hoped.
mgnowicki
2/11/2016
Over the past several years, H-1 Construction is my go-to contractor for my home repairs, big and small. They have demo-ed and redone our full lanai, driveway & support house beams (pole house design), painted, and installed toilets. Luke Stendsland comes over, surveys the work and provides an estimate that he sticks to. I can discuss everything first, no surprises. The H-1 Crew arrives on time, is courteous and mindful of my plants, dogs, & neighbors, and does a good job to address our needs. Right material is used and right method applied. They clean-up when done. Any issues, I can talk to Luke or his supervisor.
gail_nakada
2/05/2016
We cannot recommend Luke and H-1 Construction highly enough. From the 1st time we met through every meeting and text all the way till the completion we felt like Luke and his team were genuinely interested in making our project the best it could be. The design concepts took the ideas we had and put them on paper and ultimately his team created the kitchen we always wanted. The craftmanship and attention to detail by Luke and his team are evident in the solid and clean lines while the uniqueness of things like a surfboard rack and a solid glass back splash tinted to the exact color of Mary's favorite surfboard (her takayama fish!) were just some examples of how they went above and beyond to make our kitchen exactly what we wanted. H-1 completed our project on time and on budget. I recommend them to all my friends!
malinaandmary
2/04/2016
They did a quite extensive interior remodeling; new kitchen, bathroom, additional half bathroom, etc. Their workmanship, quality of work was above average. They also tried their best to accommodate our wishes. They did a great job and kept a very friendly relationship even when we had different opinions.
thegals
1/03/2016
H-1 Construction, LLC came highly recommended to me to renovate and upgrade my lanai. H-1 Construction, LLC more than met my expectations. We worked as a team – homeowner and design build firm. The objective was to design and build a well crafted, beautiful and functional lanai space. H-1 F+N Design-Build Collaborative I was impressed me from the very start of our project with the work ethic, the employees, and the professionalism. From the outset of the project to the very end, the experience was excellent; the end result was a major transformation of an old, badly designed lanai, to a huge, new lanai space that captured my lifestyle and incorporating the views from my property. I am overjoyed, as are all my friends and neighbors with the results. I was present for the complete project and was very impressed with the hard work and dedication of the every member of H-1’s work crew. All were true professionals, arriving at the job site on time, meticulous in their work, and cleaning up after a full day of work. Any issues that needed to be addressed, especially with novel, new electrical lighting schemes, were handled professionally and promptly. The crew even helped with me minor problems on my property! I thank them all for their patience with for the long hours they put into converting an older, badly designed lanai into a beautiful, modern, sustainable and functional outdoor living space that has already seen major family gatherings and neighborhood gatherings. Caroline L. Mackenzie Homeowner, Kaneohe Hawaii
Caroline Mackenzie Avatar
Caroline Mackenzie
12/31/2015
Luke Stensland (H1 Construction) & Ryan Fujita (Fujita & Netski Architecture) commenced planning and construction of a total remodel of my 2 bedroom Yacht Harbor Towers condo in February 2014. After initial discussions of the design concept, Ryan drew detailed drawings of the project suitable for town planning approval while Luke applied for the necessary permits and go ahead from Yacht Harbor Towers HOA. Luke was able to work with the challenges of dealing with the HOA and of a project in a down town high rise. The remodel included complete re-wiring, re- plumbing, hardwood flooring, custom cabinetry and painting throughout. In addition all new appliances were installed. As I live in Southern California, trust and communication were particularly important during the project. As with any large project unexpected situations arise and Luke put forward ideas to achieve the best final result. There were many decisions to be made during the construction and decorating fazes and Ryan was invaluable in keeping design consistency. The final results of the extensive custom cabinetry and feature tile work exceeded my expectations and gave the condo the “wow" factor I was looking for. Finding the right team and good fit can be challenging in Hawaii, Luke and Ryan are a young professional team who work well together and made the project an enjoyable experience. I would definitely work with them again.
allan_mackey
12/30/2015